Getting Fit in my 50s

I never thought too much about fitness.  I exercised now and then and dieted here and there, but fitness?  I took for granted that my body would alway be fine.  When I turned 50 I was 4 dress sizes smaller than I am now.  I’m going to be 55 this year and I don’t care about the dress size, I want to be healthy and fit.  The dress size will happen.

Mark told me once, “Reet, life is like a roll of toilet paper.  The closer you get to the end, the faster it goes.”  He was right.  I feel as if life is flying by and if I want to do anything, I need to jump in.

Last week I jumped into my diet journey.  The Hilton Head Metabolism Diet, by Peter Miller.  I did this years ago when I wanted to lose baby weight.  It was a good plan then and it’s still a good plan today.  There are no high costs to this plan, no meetings and no starving.  I grocery shop at my regular store on Sunday, for the entire week.  The meals are all planned out for me, so there is no fretting over what to have for dinner.  I make what I’m supposed to eat for that day.

If you are looking for this book, it’s out of print.  Thank goodness for  www.Half.com.

Half.com

This is a website for used books.  There are lots of copies listed there.  A friend in South Carolina purchased one last week.

I’m 4 pounds lighter and have so much more energy.  This plan really knows how to boost the metabolism.

This plan also calls for a good multiple vitamin.  So I am now on the search for a good vitamin supplement.  And what else?  Do I need more calcium?  Do I need less coffee?  When is the best time to take vitamins?  How much water should I drink?  I know I should take Ginko Biloba but I keep forgetting to take it.

One Response

  1. I have to check out half.com. It’s great that htere are sill copies available.

Leave a Reply

