Log Contest

For the past few years we have been having a “Log Contest” on the evening of our Family Reunion Picnic.  Before that, it was only a bonfire.  Don’t get me wrong, it was a fun night that we all looked forward to.  But it was just a bonfire with lots of sing-a-longs and joke telling. (and did I mention, drinking?)   Then about five years ago, the “Log Contest” was created.  This is how it got started:

Everyone was looking for a place to have our annual bonfire after the picnic.  Jake had the room in his back yard, but no firewood.  He got the idea to have everyone bring one log and he would not have to go out and get a truck load of wood for the evening’s fire.  I said, “You’re kidding, right?”  He told me people think nothing of asking someone to bring a dish to a picnic.  Why not ask people to bring a log for a fire?  That make sense to me.  I told him to have fun, I was in NJ and not attending the bonfire.  I asked him to take lots of pictures and let me know how it all turned out.

Jake spread the word about the “bring a log to burn” evening.  My niece tells him, “I live in the city Jake, do I have to bring a log?”  My other niece hears this and says something like – Do what you want to do but, I will be bringing the best log, you just wait and see.  That was like throwing down the gauntlet.  The challenge was on.  Who was going to bring the best log.  Many logs arrived, they were cleverly decorated and they were all judged and then burned up in the fire.  Jake entertained the family that night with his judging and critiquing of the logs.  Points were awarded for a variety of reasons.  At the end of the night, Theresa and Mary Kate were the first winners of the log contest.  They received a ‘lincoln log’ trophy for their efforts.

Every year the winner of the contest adds a little something to the trophy to show the year their log won the contest.  The contest has evolved and so has the trophy.  Every year, after the contest is over, we start to think of what we might do for next year.  I’ve been thinking of my log for next year.  I need to come up with a great idea.  I almost won this year  –but that’s what I say every year 🙂

2 Responses

  1. You should post some pics from the log contest. I don’t have any pictures of my log.

Leave a Reply

