RIP Danny

Something happened 30 years ago today that changed my family’s life.  My brother was killed in a car accident.  The details of that day are so clear in my mind, I feel like it was yesterday.  I miss him every single day.

I don’t want to dwell on that day thirty years ago, instead I want to tell you about him.  Plain and simple, he was a good guy.  He was my older brother by 5 years.  As a kid I remember him fixing stuff.  We had a huge barn out back with a workshop in the front bay.  He always seemed to have a bicycle to work on or tree fort in the works. When he was old enough, he turned to cars.  He really loved cars.  I know he had a 57 Chevy.  He also had two Corvettes.  One was black and one was white. I don’t know the year, I only know he loved them.  He also had a Road Runner.  It was such a great car.

When I was in High School, he told me which kind of boys to date and which ones to stay away from.  I asked him how he knew this and he said not to ask so many questions. He let me take my drivers test in that Road Runner and then gave it to me for the rest of the weekend to drive around.

After I got married he was always dropping by to raid my refrigerator.  If there was nothing he would take a bite out of something in my house.  I had a candle and some waxed fruit with bite marks.  On Halloween, I had put together a display outside. There were three pumpkins sitting on a bale of hay with Indian corn and gourds laying around.  Mark and I were gone for a weekend and came home to bites out of everything.  Mark thought it was hysterical and told me I better keep food around for when Danny showed up.  So of course I did.

I had no idea Danny was looking out for me.  Mark told me years later that among the many reasons Danny came around so much was to keep an eye on me and the baby.  Mark had to travel often and sometimes for weeks at a time when my son was an infant.  Danny told Mark to call him whenever he went out of town and he would check in on me.

He was a good guy, and I miss him every single day.

2 Responses

  1. What a great post. I wasn’t aware of the day and can’t believe that it has been 30 years. I can recall the events of the day by the minute.

    Mark and Danny, the two favorites together again. We’ll see them both soon enough.

  2. I was seven when Danny was born. He was the first baby mom let me care for. I would run from the bus everyday to get home to him. Weekends were a joy. It was like having a real live doll. It wasn’t too long ago that I realized that I was probably doing mom a huge favor relieving her for a few hours after school and on the weekends. He was a delightful baby and grew up to be an even more delightful man. I am sure he and Mark are keeping watch over us all.

Leave a Reply

