Thanksgiving

Awesome, awesome, awesome Thanksgiving dinner.  Somehow my turkey was done 2 hours ahead of time!  How does that happen??  Well, since I did lots of prep work the night before, we all went into high gear and got the sides ready in short order. Jake set the table and folded turkey napkins…

Then he went outside and deep fried a turkey while we were getting everything else put together for dinner.

Yeah, I didn’t take any more pictures because of the fact that I was creating the most fantastic meal on earth.  If you were here, you’d know what I was talking about.  Everything was great.  I must confess there were a few slip ups.  Yes, even when we’ve had our best holidays, there is bound to be slip ups.  I forgot to make bread pudding.  I made 5 pies, but forgot to make the bread pudding. DOH!  We didn’t make the Waldorf Salad either.  It’s okay on that one.  No one missed it.  Also, I forgot to put out the applesauce.  Not just any applesauce, it was homemade applesauce.  My homemade applesauce.  It is so amazing.  Even now, I’m closing my eyes thinking about how delicious this applesauce would have been on the table.  Well now that I think about this …… it is still delicious and I’ll have it with left overs.  Problem solved.

I am thankful that I have the time and the ability to cook a dinner, any dinner.  I am thankful that my family wants to gather to enjoy this meal and be thankful with me.  I am thankful for my amazing children and grandchildren.  I am thankful for my amazing husband who looked down from heaven on our gathering.  I miss him every day.

3 Responses

  1. PS – I am thankful that we were able to share the joy for thirty years.

  2. It was an amazing dinner

  3. Thanksgiving is about family but is seems like the Dinner was pretty good too. I could taste that applesauce reading your post.

Leave a Reply

