So simple, why haven’t I made this before?

Vegetable broth that is!

I love to create soup.  I love the texture and flavors of great soup.  I love it even more when it comes from my kitchen.

If there was a chicken or turkey for dinner, you can be sure I was boiling up bones the next day.  Turkey vegetable is one of my family’s favorites.  My Mom taught me how to make soup right after I got married, and it’s a sweet memory for me every time I make some.  I have learned to make many of her soups and most of them, healthier than she did.  I think it’s because I use great kitchen tools that were not available then, and the nutrition of good eating is better now than back in 1975.  I often wish I could cook with her again.

Anyway…

The one stock I haven’t made, until now, is vegetable stock.  I really don’t know why.  I made some of this flavorful liquid the other day and was delighted with the outcome.

Here is the recipe, how easy does this look:

4 carrots, cut into chunks

2 medium or 1 large onion, unpeeled, quartered

2 potatoes, cut into chunks

3 celery stalks, roughly chopped

3 or 4 garlic cloves

20 or so stems parsley, with or without leaves

salt and pepper

Combine everything in a stockpot with 3 quarts water.  Bring to a boil and reduce to a nice simmer.  A rolling boil makes for cloudy stock.  A simmer produces a clearer stock.  Both are delicious and quite the same in flavor.  It’s up to you.  Cook until the vegetables are tender, about 30 minutes.  Cooking a little longer will improve the flavor, but if you’re in a hurry, 30 minutes is fine.  Strain, then taste and adjust the seasoning before using.  Cool before refrigerating or freezing.

This recipe comes from THE FOOD MATTERS COOK BOOK by Mark Bittman.  My daughter-in-law had this book on her “Wish List”.  After looking at it contents, I picked up one for myself too…. and one for my other daughter-in-law…. and one for my daughter.  This might give you an idea of how much I like this book — And I have a lot of cook books.  Mr. Bittman goes on to talk about adding other vegetables to the stock and which one you shouldn’t because they are bitter or overpowering.  He goes on to talk about making a “Roasted Vegetable Stock”. Sounds so good, doesn’t it?  I can’t wait to work my way through this cookbook.

Leave a Reply

